Tu es Petrus – Widor

Good evening, Choristers! I hope you are doing some great music studying before Halloween break. And I hope you do some during Halloween break, also! For those of you going on the tour, you leave in 1 week! And for those of you staying, this extra study is good for you vocally and musically.

Here is a recording of Tu es Petrus by Widor. I could only find the one video so far. It is a little hard to understand what the text is, as you have not seen it yet. Follow along with the words I posted below, and it will be easier.

Here is the text.

Tu es Petrus
et super hanc petram aedificabo ecclesiam meam
et portae inferi non praevalebunt adversus eam.
Et tibi dabo claves regni caelorum.


You are Peter,
And upon this Rock I will build My Church:
and the gates of hell shall not overcome it.
And I will give you the keys to the kingdom of heaven.

I hope to have the music for tomorrow’s rehearsal. If not, we will have a lot to do Monday!!! 😮

Leave a Reply

